A Note to...

Foundation

Hey there foundation. You’re cool and all, but boy oh boy do you cause a lot of frustration. Since there are a million types of you, I’ll stick to talking about Matte and Dewy finishes.

Matte Foundation: you suck. At least you did for me because I have dry skin. (p.s. if you have dry skin, do not use matte foundation!)  Matte foundation ends up looking cakey and you’ll have dry patches.

Dewy Foundation: you’re amazing. At first, I didn’t want to try you because I thought matte was the way to go. I was proven wrong. I’m in love with a dewy look, and I’m sure that will show in coming posts.

I love that you range in shades and coverage. Mostly I prefer the medium-to-full coverage foundations, but lots of foundations have buildable coverage. I guess I like that about you too.

My favorites include Maybelline Fit Me Dewy Foundation, Too Faced Born This Way, Sonia Kashuk Perfecting Luminous Foundation, and the new Maybelline Dream Cushion Foundation. All of these just seemed to work for me. I definitely steer clear from the matte foundations, but that doesn’t mean I still don’t look around when I’m shopping! Before I realized what my skin-type was, I loved the Rimmel 24-hour lasting, the Fit Me Matte, and the Neutrogena Matte.

Regardless of likes and dislikes, you’re definitely the key to every look. Once the skin-type and shade problems are solved, usually it’s smooth sailing from there.

xx – Em ♥

Leave a Reply

